Gallagher Girls: I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter


I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You - Gallagher Girls 1Title: 
I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You (LYKY)

Rating: Cup of TeaCup of TeaCup of TeaCup of Tea

Author: Ally Carter

Published by: Hyperion Books for Children

Publication Date: April 1st 2006

Pages: 309

Genres: Teen/YA Fiction/Romance/Adventure

Book Blurb:  Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses – but it’s really a school for spies. Cammie Morgan is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways (three of which involve a piece of uncooked spaghetti). But the one thing the Gallagher Academy hasn’t prepared her for is what to do when she falls for an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, and track him through a mall without his ever being the wiser, but can Cammie have a normal relationship with a boy who can never know the truth about her?

 

Waterstones ¦ Amazon

Review:
I’d Tell Your I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You is a book about the girls of Gallagher Academy and narrated by the headteachers daughter,  Cameron ‘Cammie’ Morgan. The school is a place for exceptionally talented and gifted girls on the front, which isn’t a lie, just the watered down truth. It is in fact a school for spies in training. They are taught to do amazing things such as kill a person in many ways with a piece of uncooked spagetti, but the one thing they’re not taught to do, is deal with boys. The Gallagher Girls series is based on the dilemmas, social lives of the girls, plus a few extra problems they will have to face.
This book was…I can’t describe it. I must have read for three hours non stop to finish this book. I honestly could not put it down.
There is no one character I prefer. Cammie is extremely relate-able, Bex is just awesome in all her quirky ways and Liz is that geeky girl that you would not want to be left alone in a lab with if she was angry. Macey is simply hilarious with her fashion and boy skills, surprisingly, probably the most normal out of all of them. I think I am most like Cammie and Liz though there is some of Bex in me with my love for adventure as well.
Ally Carter managed to add humour into the most serious of scenes which I admire so very much.
There were two things that really got to me though. The first was that i wanted a little more action and actual spy mission-y stuff. I have heard that the second book is better though. Right now as I write this review, the next book is sitting beside me. “Read me please! I’m awesome and you know it.”
The second problem is that once I finished the book I thought, that was amazing, but when I tried to think about all the events in the book, it just seemed a little, plain.
Overall this was an interesting beginning for the Gallagher Girl series and I cannot wait to start reading the next book, Cross My heart and Hope to Spy. Although I hope that it is a little more thrilling than the first book. But it was a nice intro into the secret world.
Please Leave a Comment. It's lonely up here.

